FREE 40-part music theory course!

The Clements Blog

Posts by tag: composers

Mark-Anthony Turnage and the Beyoncé Connection

Tuesday, 8th October 2013 | 3 comments

When Mark-Anthony Turnages's new orchestral work Hammered Out was given its first performance at this year's BBC Proms at London's Royal Albert Hall it was clear Turnage had gone further than ever before in his homages to modern pop music. Because, as many members of the audience quickly recognised, Turnage had based sections of his piece on Beyoncé's hit 'Single Ladies (Put a Ring On It)'.

Read more

Extended Instruments

Extended Instruments

Friday, 20th September 2013 | 4 comments

Every performer is familiar with how their instrument should sound: from knowing which end to blow down to how to produce a really clean tone with all the notes in tune. Yet what happens if you don't do what you're 'supposed' to do, and experiment with something different? Could the results be interesting, and even fun?

Read more

...and now some new Mozart has been discovered too

...and now some new Mozart has been discovered too

Sunday, 2nd September 2012 | 0 comments

Just a few weeks after we reported the news that an unknown piece by Brahms had been discovered, another new piece by one of the great composers has been found. This time it's music by an 11-year-old Mozart!

Read more

Anna Nicole - the Real Deal?

Wednesday, 22nd February 2012 | 4 comments

It has been an funny old week for opera fans. Anna Nicole, the new opera by Mark-Anthony Turnage has opened at Covent Garden in London and is receiving mixed reviews...

Read more

Long-lost Brahms music discovered

Sunday, 15th January 2012 | 0 comments

An exciting piece of recent news has been the discovery of an unknown piece of music by the great composer Johannes Brahms. The two-minute piece, Albumblatt, for solo piano, was written by Brahms in a visitors book once owned by the director of music at Goettingen University in Germany.

Read more

Silent Night?

John Cage's 4'33'' is one of the most famous and notorious pieces of modern music. Composed in 1952 it consists of three movements, but no notes - only the instruction 'tacet', silent.

by Tim Benjamin | Wednesday, 1st December 2010 | 2 comments | Read more






Enter your email address and click "Subscribe" to receive a notification every time there's a new post on the blog: